Action aplenty in Endurance opener


THE opening round of the 2019 Carter’s Tyre Service South Island Endurance Series served up a great day of action at Teretonga Park on Saturday.

Both the One-Hour and Three-Hour races provided great racing.

The feature race, the Three-Hour event, saw Jonny Reid and Neil Foster, of Rotorua, win for the second year in their Audi R8 LMS after starting from pole position. The race featured close racing at the front, particularly between the Reid/Foster car and the similar Audi R8 GT3 Evo of Dale Chapman (Lincoln)/Marc Doran (Queenstown)/Andrew Waite (Cromwell) plus the Aston Martin GT3 of Cromwell-based duo Tony Quinn and Damon Leitch.

The race was punctuated by several safety car periods and a red flag after many incidents. Several cars fell foul of the infamous turn one loop while the Porsche 991 GT3 R of Scott O’Donnell and Allan Dippie suffered major damage when it went off at the exit of the corner. Other frontrunners to strike trouble included the Porsche GT3 R of George McFarlane/Jack Milligan, the BMW Z4 GT3 of Marco Schelp/Matt Hamilton which had a fiery engine blow-up while the Quinn/Leitch Aston Martin succumbed to a blown gearbox.

Reid and Foster covered 164 laps, setting a lap record of 55.135 seconds, and took the win by 44.259 secs from Chapman/Doran/Waite with Cantabrians Paul Kelly and Anthony Leighs in third (Porsche) with Ben Byers (Rolleston) and Christina Orr-West (Whakatane) fourth in an Audi.

The One-Hour race was also action-packed. The drama began on Friday when last year’s winner Chris Henderson, of Dunedin, had a spectacular rollover in practice, his V8-powered Toyota rolling several times. Henderson was taken to hospital as a precaution and was out of the race.

Johnny/Chris Small, of Timaru, won the race in their Porsche 997 GT3 Cup car from Scott O’Donnell (Invercargill) and Allan Dippie (Dunedin) in a GT3 Cup S 991 with Danny Whiting, of Christchurch, third in a 991 Gen II GT3 Cup car. Jarrod Owens, of West Melton, in a GT3 Cup S was fourth having led until within sight of the chequered flag when he left the track at the hairpin. However, he set a lap record with 58.364 secs. The Angus McFarlane/Michael Bushell Porsche retired during the race.

Southlander Jordan Michels finished seventh overall and first in Class B in his new Honda Fk7 TCR car.

– Lindsay Beer is the Southland Sports Car Club promotions officer

Images from the 2019 Carter’s Tyre Service South Island Endurance Series action at Teretonga Park on Saturday. Photos: Dave Loudon Photography

Sports NewsReus Canada – The Global Destination For Modern Luxury