Cameron Morison takes club championship

Southland Sports Car Club member Liam MacDonald who won many trophies at the club's award night at Teretonga Park on Monday, July 3. Photos: Janette Gellatly

Cameron Morison took out the top prize at the Southland Sports Car Club’s (SSCC) end-of-season prizegiving at Teretonga Park on Monday, July 3, winning the SSCC Champions Trophy.

Morison, already a two-time National Clubsport Champion, won the local championship for the first time, after winning the Motorkhana Championship, Sprint Championship and the Clubsport Championship. He was also awarded the Keith McFadzien Trophy for winning the Motorkhana Title, the SSCC Speed Trophy for the Sprint Championship and the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy for the Clubsport Championship, and also won the Stresscrete 1601cc and over Speed Trophy.

Liam MacDonald, of Invercargill, the winner of the Club Championship for the past four years, was the runner-up this season.

MacDonald was also runner-up in the Noel McIntyre Drainage Race Championship behind Tony Mann, of Dunedin, while he won the Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy and the Auto Centre Trophy for the 2501cc and over race class.

Other class winners in the race championship were Wayne Elliott, of Invercargill, who won the Arrow International Trophy for the 1601-2500cc class, Andrew Muir, of Gore, who took the Nebulite Windows & Doors Trophy for the 1301-1600cc class for the second year running, a feat also matched by Todd Blackmun, of Invercargill, in winning the Turntru Machining Trophy for the -1300cc Class. In the Sports and Racing Car class, Dave McKenzie, of Invercargill, won both the Harold Williams Memorial Trophy as Overall Champion and the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the Flying Farewell Championship.

Others to receive awards on the night were Travis McPherson, who took the Stresscrete -1600cc Speed Trophy, Olivia Beck-Graham, of Invercargill, who won the Howard Kingsford-Smith Trophy for the Most Improved Driver as well as the Ladies Committee Trophy for Junior Driver of the Year.

Dayle Kirby, of Winton, was the winner of the Arrow International Trophy for the Novice Driver of the Year and Rachel Lawrie won the Ladies Championship Trophy for the second year in succession.

Daniel Kent and Lenard McLeod shared the RB Munro Workers Award Trophy and Amanda Paterson won the Macks Panel and Paint Trophy for Marshall of the Year.

Club stalwart Rodger Cunninghame was the latest to join the illustrious names on the Keith Douglas Memorial Distinguished Service Award Trophy, while long-serving volunteers Charlie Bunce, Clive Campbell and Allister Robb, all of whom stepped down at the end of the season, received Distinguished Service Award Certificates.

The 2017-2018 motor race season at Teretonga Park begins with a two-day race meeting over the weekend of September 9 and 10.Running Sneakers StoreJordan Ανδρικά • Summer SALE έως -50%