MacDonald, Beck make it eight

Eight-time Southland Sports Car Club champion Liam MacDonald at the club's 2020/2021 prizegiving at Teretonga Park on Monday night. Photos: Supplied
Alan and Sharon O’Brien received the Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy Distinguished Service Award at the prizegiving.

LIAM MacDonald, of Invercargill, was presented with the Southland Sports Car Club (SSCC) Champions Trophy for an eighth time at the club’s 2020/2021 prizegiving at Teretonga Park on Monday night.

The trophy is awarded to the overall club champion and is decided from points awarded across ClubSport and Race Championship events each season.

MacDonald recorded success across all disciplines winning both the SSCC Speed Trophy for the Sprint Championship and the Stresscrete 1601cc & over Speed Trophy. He was runner-up in both the Motorkhana Championship and the ClubSport Championship, while in race events he won the Noel McIntyre Trophy for the Race Championship, the Auto Centre Trophy for the 2501cc & over class and finished runner-up in the Flying Farewell Championship.

Andrew Lawrie was runner-up in the overall club championship, a feat he also achieved in the 2017/2018 and 2019/2020 seasons while he also shared runner-up spot with Cameron Morison in 2015/16.

This season, Lawrie won the Keith McFadzien Trophy for the Motorkhana Championship and was third in the Sprint Championship, earning him the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy for winning the ClubSport Championship while he also won the Maxis Projects Ltd Trophy for the 1601-2500cc Race Championship.

In doing so, he accumulated enough points to seal the runner-up spot in the club championship.

Rachael Beck won the SSCC Club Championship Ladies Trophy for the eighth time, while ClubSport competitor James Fitchett won the Ladies Committee Trophy for the Junior Driver of The Year and Chris Buckley, of Arrowtown, won the Maxis Projects Novice Driver Awards.

Josh Cooper took the other ClubSport award on offer, winning the Discount Tyres -1600cc Speed Trophy.

In other race awards, Gregory Scott, of Dunedin, won both the Harold Williams Trophy and the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the Sports & Racing Car Championship and the Sports & Racing Car Flying Farewell Championship respectively, while Invercargill driver Jordan Michels won the Erskine Flying Farewell Championship.

Jeremy Dawson took the Nebulite Windows & Doors 1301-1600cc class for the seventh time and Todd Blackmun, the Turntru Machining Trophy for the -1300cc class for the sixth time.

Husband and wife Alan and Sharon O’Brien received the Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy Distinguished Service Award for their contributions including Alan’s work as a scrutineer for over 40 years, the last 20 as chief scrutineer, while Sharon has helped with administration and, for the past few years, has been in race control helping to run race meetings. The duo also assist several other clubs in the region.

Paul Connell was the recipient of the Mack’s Panel & Paint Trophy for Marshall of the Year after many years of volunteer service at Teretonga Park manning Flag Point 1 at the track.

MOTORKHANA CHAMPION — Keith McFadzien Trophy:
1st Andrew Lawrie
2nd Liam MacDonald
3rd Craig Allan

1st Liam MacDonald
2nd Craig Allan
3rd Andrew Lawrie

Josh Cooper

Liam MacDonald

CLUBSPORT CHAMPION — Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy:
1st Andrew Lawrie (989.33)
2nd Liam MacDonald (982.6)
3rd Craig Allan (972.81)

SPORTS & RACING CHAMPION — Harold Williams Memorial Trophy:
1st Gregory Scott
2nd Greg Millane
3rd Dave McKenzie

FLYING FAREWELL CHAMPION — Evolution Motorsport Trophy:
1st Gregory Scott
2nd Greg Millane
3rd Robin Williams

0-1300cc — Turntru Machining Trophy:
Todd Blackmun

1301-1600cc —Nebulite Windows & Doors Trophy:
1st Jeremy Dawson
2nd Tim Duggan
3rd Bradley Dawson

1601-2500cc — Maxis Projects Ltd Trophy:
1st Andrew Lawrie
2nd Rachael Beck
3rd Daniel McIntosh

2501cc & over — Auto Centre Trophy:
1st Liam MacDonald
2nd Ian McKenzie
3rd Jordan Michels

FLYING FAREWELL CHAMPION — Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy:
1st Jordan Michels
2nd Liam MacDonald
3rd Jeremy Dawson

NOVICE DRIVER — Maxis Projects Ltd Trophy:
Chris Buckley

JUNIOR DRIVER — Ladies Committee Trophy:
James Fitchett

LADIES CHAMPION — SSCC Club Championship Ladies Trophy:
Rachael Beck

RACE CHAMPION — Noel McIntyre Trophy:
1st Liam MacDonald
2nd Jordan Michels
3rd Jeremy Dawson

RUNNER UP – CLUB CHAMPION — SSCC Club Champion Runner Up Trophy:
Andrew Lawrie

SSCC CLUB CHAMPION —SSCC Club Champions Trophy:
Liam MacDonald

MARSHALL OF THE YEAR — Macks Panel & Paint Trophy:
Paul Connell

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD — Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy:
Alan & Sharon O’Brien

  • Lindsay Beer is the Southland Sports Car Club publicity officer