Rallysprint highlight of big weekend

Winners of the 2020 Catlins Coast Rally winners Matt Summerfield/Jared Christofferson on the way to victory in their Mitsubishi Mirage AP4 PHOTO:Terry Marshall/Euan Cameron Photography.

AFTER an extremely successful 20th Catlins Coast Rally last year, the Eastern Southland Car Club will run a smaller event, a rallysprint, in the area next month.

After the huge rally last year, chair of the rally committee Roger Laird said the team needed a year off from organising the Catlins rally.

“Our team does more than just the Catlins Rally and it was time to regroup.

“Last year’s rally was a boomer, and the first major rally after lockdown.

“We were very lucky as we went back to Level 2 just days after the event.

A rallysprint featured a repeat use of the same section of road.

However, the rallysprint was easier to organise and would still bring competitors into the area and fill accommodation, he said.

“Clerk of the course Craig Jessop is working hard to make the weekend [rallysprint] happen.

Supported by the Rosebank Lodge, the rallysprint on Saturday, August 14, will utilise some of the great roads previously used for the rally, forming a loop of about 8.5km.

Competitors will fight it out over three runs in each direction, with the fastest time in each direction added together to determine the result.

The pit area will be on Puerua Church Rd, off Romahapa Rd.

Making up a full weekend of rally events, the South Otago Car Club will also run its Catlins Inn Rallysprint the next day, Sunday, August 15, meaning it will still be a great weekend of motorsport action in the area.

The Rosebank Lodge Catlins Rallysprint was supported by the Clutha Licensing Trust and the Clutha District Council, and the support of landowners in the area was also appreciated.

Laird also confirmed the club still intended to host the full Catlins Coast Rally next year.

“It is our intention to hold the rally again in 2022 and we already have a tentative date to do that,

  • Lindsay Beer on behalf of the Eastern Southland Car Club