Riverside’s Christmas meeting ends with a bang

Jase McMullin (84) gets a hurry up from Luke Shearing (68) in the modified sprints. Photo: Corbyn Shuttleworth

SATURDAY night’s Christmas Championship at The Rock FM Riverside came to an abrupt end as a massive hit by two stockcar drivers left a sizeable hole in the concrete wall.

Casey McEwan and Glen Fraser both walked away from the incident unscathed, but their cars and the wall will certainly need some attention.

McEwan would be happy enough with his performance prior to the incident, scoring enough points to win the championship ahead of Peter Knight and Shannon Conner.

Cromwell’s Graham Williamson capped off a steady night’s racing with a win in race three of saloons, giving him the overall victory. Williamson banked points throughout the event to take the championship, but Phil Burgess, also of Cromwell, pushed him hard and claimed second overall ahead of Euan Shearing.

Luke Shearing made amends in the modified sprints to take the title ahead of Jase McMullin and newcomer Brent Hayston. Shearing had victory in the recent Brett Cooper Memorial taken from him for a pole line infringement, but nothing was going to stop him this time around, winning both races.

Raymond Phillips was another driver who was unstoppable in six shooters, winning three from three and only really being challenged in race three by Cromwell’s Jim Martin. Jack Brown had to settle for second, while newcomer Duane Cracknell was the big improver in claiming a well-earned third.

Streetstocks turned on a terrific display of tap and spin. It felt like race three was building up to be nothing short of spectacular, but he damage to the wall left the grade only running two races.

Mark Henderson had done enough in two races to win the title over Dan Black and Graeme McKernan.

Tam Clements made a remarkable comeback from shoulder surgery which threatened to leave him on the sidelines for the majority of the season, but the former two-time Southland champion was dominant in production saloons and won the championship ahead of Aaron Rawcliffe and Tony Jones.

The final grade was the youth saloons, which once again turned on an impressive display of wheel-to-wheel racing. Jacob McIntyre claimed the top spot on the podium but had to fight hard to hold off Luke Molloy who claimed second, with Nathan Rhind third.

The club will be back on track on January 13.

Nike sneakersThe world is yours – Neue Sneaker, Apparel und mehr für Kids