Southland treated to a burnout masterclass

Overall winner Chris Daley, of Te Anau, in action. Photos: Corbyn Shuttleworth

CARS queued for hours outside The Rock FM Riverside Speedway so spectators could get the best vantage point to watch what could only be described as an insane demonstration of car control and pure horsepower.

The well over 4000 spectators were in full voice when Invercargill Mayor Tim Shadbolt and Australian burnout royalty Andrew “Lynchy” Lynch were choppered into the arena and cut the ribbon to officially open the recently extended burnout pad last weekend.

Invercargill Mayor Tim Shadbolt and Andrew Lynch officially open the recently extended burnout pad at Riverside Speedway.

The Supreme Siteworks New Zealand Burnout Championships (NZBC) at Riverside was the only South Island round of the championships and the visiting drivers were blown away by the event, which they said out-did any other events they had been to so far in the competition. They vowed to return next year.

Twenty-six cars contested the event, which had a practice round, competition skid and finals for the top 10 cars overall.

The top 10 consisted of local drivers Lyndon Murphy, Keegan Ward, Leeson Templeton and Chris Daley, all flying the flag for Southland. They were up against Lynch, Paul Henry, of Christchurch, Shaun Dury, of Auckland, and Robert Toheriri, of Pahiata, who entered two cars and got both into the top 10.

Points were awarded for instant smoke, constant smoke, volume of smoke, driver skill and popping the tyres. The overall winner’s trophy was presented to Daley in his Holden Monaro SYCO8. This gave him back-to-back wins at Riverside burnout competitions, but it was his first win as part of the NZBC circuit. Daley also won the pro class.

Jury won the 4-6 cylinder class and Toheriri the V8 class.

Buy SneakersNike Air Max 90 W nike elite running clothes