A family connection

Shelley Clark and her nephew Jordyn Clark on location for the ILT Youthmark Young Achievers Awards.

AFTER a 26-year involvement capturing the images of nearly 1300 young Southlanders, photographer Shelley Clark encountered a personal connection this year.

Among the 50 recipients to earn a ILT Youthmark Young Achievers Award in 2018 was Ms Clark’s nephew, Jordyn Clark.

Head boy at Wakatipu High School in Queenstown, Jordyn was recognised for his leadership, academic achievements and extensive involvement in rowing.

“It was definitely a proud aunty moment and the most memorable in the 26 years I’ve been doing Youthmark,” Ms Clark said.

“I’m incredibly proud of Jordyn and all he has achieved so far and it was special to photograph him for this honour.

“I can’t wait to see what the future holds for him, along with all of this year’s recipients. I always continue to watch their careers with interest and they never fail to impress me.”

The 2018 achievements of pupils from secondary schools throughout the region, including Wakatipu High School and Blue Mountain College, Tapanui, will be honoured at the annual awards presentation at the Ascot Park Hotel tonight.

From junior world champions to thespians, the photographic exhibition showcases a vast array of academic, cultural and sporting prowess. It will remain in the hotel’s foyer until Tuesday and is free for the public to view.

“We have some incredibly talented young Southlanders in our midst and, with the support of the Invercargill Licensing Trust, these awards are a fantastic opportunity to really highlight their achievements and give them the kudos they deserve,” Ms Clark said.

2018 ILT Youthmark Young Achiever Award recipients are:

Amy Rule (Aparima), Callum Gargiulo (Aurora), Holly Kelly, Georgia Thomson (Blue Mountain College), Jenesis Petallana, Emilia Price, Kendra Wadsworth, Ella Wilson (Central Southland), Bradley Carruthers (Fiordland), Andrew Allan, Alexandria Bennett, Jakob Harrex, Kate Johnston (Gore High School), Ruby Donaldson, Andrew Fleming, Liam Hewitt, Sarah-Lene Hogg, Elly Koehler, Jack McKenzie, Tate Mulligan, Nepia Ruwhiu, Christina Scott, Tom Stewart, Nick Tuckey (James Hargest), Olivia Wallace (Menzies), Aaron Sangster (Northern Southland), Joshua Burnett, Daniel Cocker, Flynn Sinclair, Corbin Strong, Sean Withy (SBHS), Ryshae Forbes, Molly Haywood, Nicole Marshall, Helena Rikiti, Ella Smith, Rachel South (SGHS), Fraser Ditchfield, Ryan Horrell (St Peter’s College), Samuel Cullen, Dylan Holland, Samuel Thornbury (Verdon), Jordyn Clark, Hannah Coombe, Bianca Crichton, Alfie Duffy, Isabella Jack, Chester Rosie, Cameron Ryall, Olivia Woodham (Wakatipu).Sport mediaGOLF NIKE SHOES