Earning respect


Year 8 pupils (from left) Gypsia Arataura, of Aurora College, Deijah Puki, of Bluff School, Hayley McPherson, of Ascot Community School, Shalom Naitau, of James Hargest College, Corban Davis, of Verdon College, Millie Cottam, of St John’s Girls’ School, Tom Smith, of Southland Boys’ High School and Italy Wills Evans, of Southland Girls’ High School, show the Rotary Youth Merit Awards they received at the celebration awards dinner at the Ascot Park Hotel recently.

Hosted by Invercargill North Rotary, the pupils were nominated by their schools and acknowledged those who strived to achieve, showed initiative, industry and resilience, were honest, trustworthy and were involved in various school and other activities, Rotarian Robyn Jordan said.

The annual awards were held in recognition of the pupils’ outstanding qualities.

“They have won the respect of their peers and their teachers and show great promise for the future.”

Photo: SuppliedNike footwearnike fashion