Scouts receive royal honour

Te Anau Volunteer Scouts (from left) Josh Pearson, Zac Pearson, and Lucy Schuck have recently become Queen’s Scouts, the highest honour a scout can receive.

THREE members of the Te Anau Scout Group have become the latest to be named
Queen’s Scouts, the highest award Scouts can achieve.

Zac Pearson, Josh Pearson and Lucy Schuck spent up to three years working on projects, going on expeditions and conducting community service to qualify for the award.

They said highlights included a four-day mid-winter tramp over the Greenstone-Caples track in 2020, attending the 10-day national Venture in Northland in 2019, coaching young people in swimming and mountain biking, and leading other sections of the Te Anau Scouts.

Group leader Noel Walker said: “The three were outstanding young adults who had
worked hard on their awards and were an inspiration to the entire Fiordland community.’’

The trio has since left Te Anau to pursue tertiary studies.