Southland youth celebrated

Central Southland College pupil Cameron Shaw.

THE remarkable feats of Southland teens were celebrated at the annual Youthmark Young Achiever Awards at the Ascot Park Hotel in Invercargill last night.

Showcasing some of the region’s most talented youth, the awards and accompanying photography exhibition featured a plethora of national and international champions across a diverse range of genres from sports to academia and the arts.

First initiated in 1987, the Youthmark Awards were supported by the ILT and Mataura Licensing Trust and recognised Year 13 pupils from all Southland secondary schools who had excelled in their chosen field.

ILT and ILT Foundation president Alan Dennis said it was a deserving accolade which reflected a high level of dedication.

“Every year I am in awe of what these students have achieved. The calibre of young adults we have coming through as our future leaders bodes well,” he said.

“It is testament to the fact you can accomplish incredible things on a national or even international scale from right here.

“Geographical location is no barrier to success and we prove that time and time again.”

The Youthmark exhibition featured photographs by Shelley Clark, who had been capturing images of the recipients since 1992.

2020 ILT Youthmark Award recipients:
Blue Mountain College:
Paige McIvor
Gore High School: Ben Heaps, Hayden Michaels, Libby Pannett-Miller, Hamish Waddell
Menzies College: Rhylee McGregor
St Peter’s College: Xander Marsh, Jessica Roy, Trelise Wadsworth
Aparima College: Teagan Ashley
Aurora College: Laura Gargiulo, Iris Hawkins
Central Southland College: Natalie Green, Tyla Green, Jamie Hudson, Kate Powell, Cameron Shaw. Caitlin van Miltenburg
Fiordland College: Jessica Willans
James Hargest College: Liam Barnes, Ruby Borland-Fraser, Maia Cavanagh, Hamish Dudley, Finn Holden, Ryan Jones, Donald McIntosh, Anna O’Connor, Mitchell Tinnock, Emma Tuckey, Arielle Wilkes
Northern Southland College: Joshua Bennett
Southland Boys’ High School: Mitchel Fitzsimons, George Heenan, Michael Kuresa, Callum Nimmo, Kavarn Pettigrew, Blake Singleton
Southland Girls’ High School: Kayla Boniface, Charlotte Crean, Emilia Dermody, Madison Flannery, Emma Jones, Shakira Mirfin, Ali Robertson
Verdon College: Lachlan Baird, Connor Douglas, Laurent Edwards, Distance Takamorijordan SneakersWomen's Nike Superrep