Marist won the Galbraith Shield

Scott Eade raising the Galbraith Shield. Photos: Hayden Williams

MARIST are Southland’s premier rugby champions.

They beat Star 26-15 at Rugby Park on Saturday and in doing so lifted the Galbraith Shield for the first time in 16 years.

Marist captain Scott Eade landed six out of seven shots for goal and scored one of his team’s tries. Tangaroa Walker also touched down for Marist.

Star also scored two tries, with Sy Waiti and Hayden Edgley crossing the line, but failed to convert several penalty opportunities into points.

A crowd of about 1500 supporters turned out for the premier division final.

In division one’s top four, Edendale beat Midlands 34-17 and Wyndham beat Riversdale 32-3, while in the division’s bottom four Waiau Star beat Drummond Limehills Star 24-5 and Te Anau beat Waikaka 34-19.

Division two: Marist B beat Tokanui 32-12; Blues B beat Wakatipu 72-19; Albion Excelsior beat Waikiwi 16-12; Mossburn beat Ohai Nightcaps 61-5.

Division three: Riverton beat Star B 29-8; Bush Pirates beat Pirates-Old Boys B 32-5; Collegiate beat Balfour-Lumsden 22-17; Otautau beat Bluff 19-17.

jordan SneakersNike Shoes