College pupils win golf classic

From left, Te Anau Golf Classic tournament co-conveners Marg Hughes and Dawn Dowling, Don McFarlane, of Ray White Real Estate, and tournament winners Jack Barrett and Liam Hewitt. Photo: Julie Walls

THE Te Anau Golf Club celebrated its 41st Te Anau Fiordland Golf Classic at the weekend.

The Ray White-sponsored classic is one of the province’s biggest golf tournaments, attracting 96 teams and 192 competitors.

Top honours at the two-day event went to Liam Hewitt, of Invercargill, and Jack Barrett, of Lumsden. They also picked up the best combined nett, John Thompson Memorial Trophy.

Hewitt is on a scratch handicap and Barrett is on a 6 handicap. It was the first time they had played together in the classic.

Hewitt attends James Hargest College in Invercargill and Barrett is at Northern Southland College in Lumsden.

Barrett is looking to take up a greenkeeping apprenticeship at The Hills Golf Course at Arrowtown, while Hewitt would like to be involved working at a golf club and becoming a professional coach.

The runners-up were William du Plessis, of Drummond, and Chris Withy, of Dipton. Third place went to Lindsey Houliston, of Te Anau, and Tony Leean, of Waikaia.

The four ball, best ball winners were Mark Daley and Paul Evans, both of Te Anau, and the runners-up were Sam Shefford and Shawn Coombe, both of Arrowtown.

The stableford men’s individual title was won by Hewitt and the women’s honour went to Olivia Frost, of Invercargill.Running sneakersNIKE AIR HUARACHE