Cowboys win rugby league grand final

Photos: Dave Loudon Photography

CONGRATULATIONS to the Lone Star Cowboys on winning their second Southland District Rugby League club grand final after winning their first one in 2011 when the club was established.

It was the Cowboys’ third grand final in a row and, as they say, it was third time lucky.

This was He Tauaa’s seventh straight grand final appearance. After losing their first one by a golden point to Cooks back in 2012, the club went on to win five grand finals and create history for the club and Southland.

Cowboys deserved the win – it was the better team on the day and it has been all season.

He Tauaa tried their hardest and worked some good plays, but handling errors let them down. They fought back in the second half and never gave up even when the score was slipping away from them.

Cowboys worked hard to keep He Tauaa from gaining any momentum and knew they couldn’t let up.

The Cowboys will now face the Otago champions in a showdown in Invercargill.

Half-time: Cowboys 18, He Tauaa 0

Full-time: Cowboys 42, He Tauaa 16

Dave Loudon – Southland District Rugby League

Running SneakersNike Tn Pas Cher, Nike Tn Soldes – nike tn pas cher