Crowd numbers swell at 51st Te Anau Rodeo

Kerry Macdonald, of Te Anau, competes in the Open Barrel race at the 51st Te Anau Rodeo. Photo: Julie Walls

MORE spectators than ever attended the 51st Te Anau Rodeo on December 30, with crowd numbers increasing by about 1800 on past years.

“It’s great how rodeo across New Zealand is consistently attracting good crowds,” Te Anau Rodeo secretary Peter Dolamore said.

“The club really appreciates the support from the public, sponsors, helpers and the Te Anau Pony Club, who helped make the day a success.”

The annual rodeo attracted past national champions, one Australian and several North Island cowboys, with 183 entries.

The Vibrance Hair & Beauty Open Barrel race was a tight competition with the difference between first and 11th places just 1.187 seconds. The event was won by Rhondine Long, of Oamaru, in 16.735sec. Te Anau club member Kerry Macdonald was fourth in 16.92sec.

Arthur Shaw, originally from Tuturau and now Amberley, won the club’s Hamish Macdonald Memorial Trophy for the Evans Freight Open Bareback event.

Tyler Wilson, an up-and-coming young cowboy from Alexandra, won the Ron Galland Memorial Trophy as a second-division competitor by winning the Radfords on the Lake Second Division Bull Ride.

Te Anau Lions Club, Mararoa School, Te Anau Fire Brigade and Fiordland LandSAR benefited from the proceeds from the event.

Climbing the ranks

Competitors who featured at Te Anau Rodeo who are leading or doing well in the national standings include Rhondine Long, first in open barrel race, with Jenny Atkinson in second place and Alyce Perkins third.

Patrick McCarthy is the all-round champion, rope and tie. McCarthy and Andrew Jamison are also leading in team roping.

Ross Dowling is leading in the open bareback and saddle bronc, with Arthur Shaw second and Tate Macdonald third.bridge mediaAir Jordan 5 (V) Original – OG White / Black – Fire Red