Golf classic gains a following

(From left) Ray White Real Estate licensee agent and owner Don McFarlane, winner Andrew Pardoe-Burnett, of Tuatapere, Ray White licensee salesperson Tania Hefford and winner Nick Hamilton, of Mossburn, celebrate at Te Anau Fiordland Golf Classic prizegiving last weekend. Photo: Supplied

MORE than 100 teams took part in the Ray White Te Anau Fiordland Golf Classic held over four days last week.

Tournament convener for the past 18 years, Dawn Dowling, said this year’s event proved so popular, with teams coming from Te Anau, Southland, Otago, Canterbury, Hawke’s Bay and Auckland, there was a waiting list.

“The Te Anau Plumbing Stableford field on the Friday, this year had 132 players, which is incredible.

“The most we have had in this field is 104, so it shows how popular our tournament has become,” she said.

The Friday Stableford was won by Kurt Houghton, of Te Anau.

Top honours for the classic two-day event were the combination of Nick Hamilton (Mossburn) and Andrew Pardoe-Burnett (Tuatapere), who finished with 197 and won a $1000 travel voucher from House of Travel, Dunedin.

In 2019, Hamilton took out the top prize with Jason Herrick, also of Mossburn.

Runners-up were Liam Hewitt and Connor Fowle (203), and third place went to Zack Fowle and Nigel Fowle (203 on countback).

Overnight rain and light drizzle on both days did not dampen the players’ spirits, Dowling said.

“The course was in amazing condition and tested the golfers with very quick greens but the good golfers handled it and this came through in the results.”

The number of new teams, which included younger golfers, was heartening for the future of the tournament, she said.

Fiordland Golf Classic results:

Fiordland Golf Classic results:
Ray White 4BBB: Nick Hamilton and Andrew Pardoe-Burnett (60); runners-up Connor Fowle and Liam Hewitt by lot (61).
Ray White Te Anau best gross over the field — men: Liam Hewitt (68); women: Helen Baird (80).
Best nett over the field — men: Matt Fogo (67); women: Tina McColl (71).
Best Stableford — men: William Buplessis (38), runner-up Morgan Will (36); women: Tina McColl (39), runner-up Tyree Birch (37).
Country Rovers incentive holes — longest drive — women: Bronwyn O’Brien (0-18) and Janet Anderson (18-30); men: Joseph Hancock (0-14) and Kurt Houghton (18-24).