He Tauaa reign supreme

The winning He Tauaa rugby league team. Photos: Dave Loudon Photography

HE Tauaa won the Southland District Rugby League grand final for the fifth year in a row on Saturday.

In what was a high-scoring game, He Tauaa beat the Lone Star Cowboys 43-34.

It always promised to be an exciting clash and indeed it was, played in perfect conditions at the Sandy Point grounds.

Both teams were laced with representative players who had benefited from the experience of playing for the Southland Rams last season.

Billy Cooper (Lone Star Cowboys) is stopped in a tackle by He Tauaa players Sam Taukiri (No 5) and Chez Cameron (13).

Cowboys opened the ledger with a try five minutes in to the game. From there on it was a relatively even contest.

He Tauaa led 18-12 at the half-time whistle.

The Cowboys scored a rapid succession of tries in the second half, but He Tauaa showed their worth and kept up the scoring to finish the game on top.

It was a good battle up front. The Cowboys played well and will build on this experience for next season.

He Tauaa will now play Kia Toa Tigers (the winners of the Otago grand final) in a Southland-Otago game at Sandy Point. The date is to be decided.

He Tauaa 43 (Lucas Pikia (2), Sam Taukiri (2), Javaan Faamoe Ioane, Jayleel Faamoe Ioane, Shaun Tamariki Todd and Rocky Pettigrew tries; Jayleel Famoe Ioane 5 conversions, field goal), Cowboys 34 (Afi Peteru (2), Korey Pennicott, Houston Te Tai, Josh Gough and Tane Puki tries; Daniel Low 5 conversions).Sports Newsnike huarache pink and teal bedding