National women’s indoor bowls championships

Joyce Cleghorn and Kath Muir (Ashburton) with Maureen O'Rourke and Lyn Richardson (Christchurch Richmond) at the Southland Indoor Bowls Centre.

About 200 women competed at the 34th Clubs New Zealand national women’s indoor bowls championships held at the Southland Indoor Bowls Centre in Invercargill from July 3 to July 6.

Bowlers from 32 clubs throughout the country took part in the tournament and competed in singles, pairs, triples and fours.

New Zealand Indoor Bowling executive member Graham Low said bowlers enjoyed playing on the centre’s floor.

This is arguably the best floor in New Zealand for playing indoor bowls and they like coming down here to play on this surface,” he said.

The singles winner was Marilyn Baskiville from Mangere Cosmopolitan, the pairs trophy went to Kath Arvidson and Debra Warren from Papakura Club, the triples title went to Angela Leslie, Cindy White and Karen Watson from Pukekohe Cosmopolitan while the fours went to Lyn Brown, Mary Mealings, Jenelle Lockyer and Helen Black from Timaru Town and Country.

The Team Trophy went to Pukekohe Cosmopolitan.



Winner: Marilyn Baskiville, Mangere Cosmopolitan

Runner Up: Jo Hill, Hornby Workingmen’s

Third Equal: Caroline Braithwaite, Gorge Road Country Club, Lyn Martin, Otorohanga Club;


Winners: Kath Arvidson and Debra Warren, Papakura Club

Runners Up: Carol Lovell and Trish Lang, Otorohanga Club

Third Equal: Angela Leslie and Cindy White, Pukekohe Cosmopolitan, Marilyn Baskiville and Anne Takurua, Mangere Cosmopolitan;


Winners: Angela Leslie, Cindy White and Karen Watson, Pukekohe Cosmopolitan

Runners Up: Lesley Monk, Carol Baker and Molly Young Hamilton Workingmen’s

Third Equal: Clare Ginnane, Yvonne Longman and Kay Lord, Hamilton Workingmens,

Sue Paice, Roberta Montgomery and Myrtle Wilson, Manurewa Cosmopolitan;


Winners: Lyn Brown, Mary Mealings, Jenelle Lockyer and Helen Black, Timaru Town and Country

Runners Up: Jan Matthews, Ngareta Orchard, Janet Beckingsale and Gwen Leach, Kaiapoi Club

Third Equal: Rowena MacKenzie, Joyce Cleghorn, Kathleen Muir and Ann Sunbeam, Ashburton Club & MSA, Donna Reynolds, Lesley Monk, Ashleigh Tanfield and Molly Young, Hamilton Workingmen’s;

Teams Aggregate Trophy

Winners: Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Angela Leslie, Karen Watson, Cindy White and Ann Kendall (Pool Player)

Runners Up: Timaru Town and Country

North Island v South Island

Winners: North Island

trace affiliate linknike headquarters Sneakers