On Par – Golf Southland


Third place for Southland men’s Masters team
SOUTHLAND men’s Masters golf team’s third place in the national Freyberg Masters will be one for the record books in Southland, as the province celebrates its first podium finish at the national tournament.

The Southland team, which included Simon Hollyer, Peter Buckley, Doug Carmichael, Glen Sutherland, Simon Boland and Ngarimu Paraki, dropped just one of its seven matches throughout the week in what was a fantastic team effort from the southerners.

The team amped up as the week went on, starting with a round one draw with Taranaki, then a 4-1 loss to Manawatu-Whanganui on day one.

The players followed that up with a 3-2 win over Auckland, a halved match with Northland and a 3-2 win over Canterbury.

The team had the bye in round six and round seven was called off and all matches halved.

But Southland saved some great golf for last, with a 4-1 win over North Harbour and a 4-1 win over Poverty Bay East Coast to round out the week and take third place.

Peter Buckley produced a stellar effort to be unbeaten throughout the week.

Bay of Plenty took first place and Manawatu-Whanganui second, but it was a third place that surprised many and meant a whole lot to Southland.

Southland matchplay champions decided
THE Southland Matchplay Championships got started in Winton in September, but with bad weather forcing the postponement of the finals, it took until last weekend to finally decide the senior and intermediate men’s winners.

In the men’s senior semi-finals Matt Tautari beat Jacob Bellamy on the 20th hole, and Liam Balneaves beat Tyler McLean 3/2.

Tautari got the win in the final, beating Balneaves 5/4 to take a prestigious double for the year winning both the Southland and Otago Matchplay titles.

In the men’s intermediate final, George Prendergast beat Bryan Cantley 4/3.

The Over 40s title went to Ngarimu Paraki, who beat Simon Hollyer in the final.

The women’s semi-finals and final are still to be played.

Southland’s young golf talent on show
GOLF Southland’s primary school tournaments continued last week.

In the Western Zone, 28 teams took part in Riverton, with the winning team the Otautau 2 team of Jesse Wech, Leo Tagg, Atheena Carbonel and Harrison Egan.

Drummond 1 was runner-up and Waihopai 1 was third.

Zwagerman, Jack Claridge, Jimmy Taylor and Lincoln Te Tai) won the Town Zone tournament, with runner-up James Hargest 2 and third-placed Windsor North 2.

There is still the Northern Zone tournament to be played before the finals at Drummond later this month.best Running shoes brandAir Jordan Release Dates 2021 Updated