On Par – Golf Southland


ILT Challenge

THE 2021 ILT Challenge teed off at SBS Bank Invercargill Golf Club, at Otatara, at the weekend with Greenacres taking top honours in round one.

Greenacres finished the round with 391 points against Invercargill (387) and Queens Park (362).

Hoana Ayto and Lenore Harvey, who both play out of Greenacres, were the best individual ladies of the round, each contributing 40 points. Invercargill’s Tony Chadderton and Greenacres’ Stuart Coburn were the top individuals in the men’s 0-12 division, both with 39, Gary Henderson (Invercargill) was the best of the men’s 13-19 division with 44 points, and Greenacres’ Murray Todd contributed 42 points in the men’s 20+ division.

The competition is played between the three Invercargill clubs. The next round is in May and will be played at Greenacres.

Laing Shield

IT’S becoming an increasingly repetitive sentence but we’ll say it againretained the Laing Shield. The club’s latest defence was against Kingston, with Nightcaps winning 4-2.

Individual results were: Brett Dobbie lost to Graham Stevens, Stu Dobbie beat Peter Stone 5/3, Ross Mangels beat Chris Bell 3/2, Peter Booth beat Ian Huffadine 5/4, Jay Petherick lost to Jeff Rogers 4/3 and Keith Clark beat Jeff Sinclair 3/2.

Nightcaps’ next challenge will be from Bluff.

Gilmour Rosebowl

WAIKAKA has retained the Gilmour Rosebowl after its first defence, beating Te Anau 3.5-1.5.

Individual results were: Janis Steel beat Sheree Hemi 1up, Deryn Cullen squared with Marg Hughes, Sue Stewart beat Dawn Dowling 2up, Lois Byars beat Judy Mathews 4/3 and Monica Hansen lost to Judy King 2/1.

Waikaka’s next challenge will be from Lumsden.

ILT/DB Liquorland Charity Tournament

IT may have rained all day, but that did not dampen the fundraising efforts at the ILT/DB Liquorland Charity Tournament played at Queens Park last week.

More than 100 people took part, raising more than $3200 for the Hawthorndale Care Village.

Hedgehope golfers dominated the men’s and mixed category. The Hedgehope pair of Adam Waite and Dennis Todd won the men’s/mixed division, over Ross Butcher (Hedgehope) and Doug Clark (Mataura), with Hedgehope’s Brian Meikle and Tegan Proudfoot, and Arrowtown’s Tony Harrington and Paddy Bartlett sharing third.

Riverton’s Donna McKenzie and Emma MacCallum won the women’s category, over Keli Butcher (Hedgehope) and Lydia McIllwrick (Mataura), and third place went to Naoko Anderson and Helen Cawthorn (Queens Park).