On Par – Golf Southland


Southland under-19 team named
THE Southland under-19 team playing in the South Island under-19 Age Grade Interprovincial which finishes tomorrow at the Otago Golf Club is George Prendergast, Connor Fowle, Luke Harvey and Matthew McLelland, with manager Simon Boland.

Junior Summer Series
THE final round of the Junior Summer Series was held at Invercargill’s Queens Park on Sunday and a prizegiving was held for the winners.

Matthew Cookson won the under-16 division after a play-off with Ryan Frost, with Oliver Piggott third.

Kevin Bang won the under-13 division, Will Carson was runner-up and Sophie Park was third.

The boys’ open nine-hole was won by Sam Hamilton and the girls’ division by Charlotte Robinson.

The Shorten course winner was Jirene Opaco, with runner-up Cooper Byrce.

MLT Vice President Pennants
THE fourth round of the Mataura Licensing Trust Vice President Pennants was held at Winton recently. Gore beat Invercargill 4-1 and Winton beat Queens Park Y 5-1. Greenacres, Mataura and Queens Park X all had byes.

Full results are available on the Golf Southland website, www.golfsouthland.co.nz

The final round-robin round will be on May 8 at the Invercargill Golf Club.

Gilmour Rosebowl
WAIKAKA has retained the Gilmour Rosebowl, beating Winton 3.5-1.5. Individual results: Dianne Cleland lost to Nikki Hume 1down, Deryn Cullen beat Marlene Muir 2/1, Kate Cross beat Margaret Nicholson 6/4, Sharon Irwin squared with Kerrie Gow, Raewyn King beat Michelle Carlton 6/7. Waikaka’s next challenge is against Gore in May.