On Par – Golf Southland


Southland team named
SOUTHLAND has named an experienced team to contest the New Zealand Men’s Interprovincial Tournament at Ashburton from November 30 to December 4.

The team in playing order is: Liam Hewitt, Tyler McLean, Scott Hellier, Leith Campion,
Matt Tautari, Doug Carmichael (reserve) and manager Simon Boland.

Champion of Champions
GOLF Southland’s Champion of Champions was played at Gore last week.

Robyn Boniface (Queens Park) won the overall title with rounds of 76+82, Olivia Frost (Invercargill) and Helen Baird (Dipton) were runners-up. The nett aggregate winner was Sam Walker (Mataura) with Baird the runner-up.

Barbara Wilson (Winton) and Fiona Robinson (Wyndham) were joint winners in the Bronze Division. Brenda Duncan (Gore was the nett aggregate winner and Susan Racz (Drummond) was runner-up.

Gross Stableford Rosebowl
THE winning team from Queens Park (Robyn Boniface, Jo Raines and Linda Suddaby), with a score of 118, will have its score submitted to NZ Golf who will determine the overall winners of the national competition. Runners-up were Invercargill (Robyn Pullar, Margaret Baillie and Frances Bell) with a score of 102.

Men’s Freyberg Masters
THE Southland team finished 11th at the recent Freyberg Masters Tournament.

The team had wins over Northland 3-2, Canterbury 3.5-1.5 and tied with Waikato 2.5-2.5. Ewan Clark finished the tournament with three wins and two halves, and Doug Carmichael and Ngarimu Paraki both had 2 wins.