On Par – Golf Southland


South Island interprovincial
SQUARED matches were a prominent feature of the weekend for the Southland men’s masters golf team as it contested the South Island Interprovincial at the North Otago Golf Club.

The team, which included Peter Buckley, Simon Boland, Doug Carmichael, Ngarimu Paraki, Glen Sutherland and Mark Horgan, teed off well with a 3.5-2.5 win over Otago, but unfortunately couldn’t manage another win, despite some very close matches.

Southland lost 3.5-2.5 to Tasman, Canterbury and Aorangi, but no doubt will have taken plenty of learnings from the weekend’s play as all teams prepare for the national Freyberg Masters next month.

Doug Carmichael was unbeaten for the weekend with two wins and two halves and Glen Sutherland had two wins and a half.

Golf Southland Women’s Seniors
SOUTHLAND’s senior women’s players will get their chance to take to the competitive fairways at Queens Park Golf Club at the Golf Southland Women’s Senior Championships on Monday, October 19.

The tournament is open to female players aged 50 and over, and several trophies are on offer including the Cullen Cup (best nett over the field), 60+ and 70+ nett and stableford trophies, and the Rae Wilson Trophy for the 80+ nett.

There are also nett and stableford prizes in three divisions, according to entries.

Entries are open until Monday, October 12, and can be made with Golf Southland; phone (03) 931 0082 or email admin@golfsouthland.co.nz.

Town v Country
SOUTHLAND women from town and country golf clubs will contest the annual Town versus Country matches at Wyndham today.

The teams are:
Silver: R Boniface,(QP), O Frost (Inv), F Murray (Inv). K McGregor (QP), W Fairweather (QP), D Kaio (QP), J Goodall (GA) and N Anderson (QP). Bronze: J Raines (QP), C Emmerson (QP), H Ayto (GA), L Suddaby (QP), A Cloete (Inv), R Leith-Forbes (QP), P Cracknell (Inv) and J Purdue (GA)

Silver: H Baird (Dip), B O’Brien (Tua), A Fraser (Riv), S Hemi (TeA). N Anderson (Mat), L Froger (Wyn), W Whitson (Wyn), N Hume (Win), Reserve; G Shirley (R/dale). Bronze: J Braithwaite (Mat), J Matthews (TeA), S Speden (G), P Craig (Dip), J King (TeA), S Racz (Drum), M Lindsay (Drum), B Wilson (Win), Reserves; F Dudfield (Drum), N Mitchell (Wyn)Sportswear free shippingM2k Tekno