On Par – Golf Southland news


MLT Vice Presidents Pennants

THE latest round of the MLT Vice Presidents Pennants was played at Queens Park, Invercargill, on Saturday.

In the morning round, Invercargill drew 3-all with Mataura and Hedgehope had a big 6-nil win over Gore. The afternoon rounds were both tied Queens Park and Invercargill drew 3-all with Hedgehope.

Individual match results can be found at www.golfsouthland.co.nz.

The next round would be played at the Invercargill Golf Club on August 8.

MLT Handicap Pennants

THE action also continued in the MLT Handicap Pennants last weekend.

Division one teams played at Wyndham, with Wyndham, Gore 2 and Hedgehope 1 leading the scoring.

Harry Dickey (Mataura) was the best individual of the round.

Overall, the top three teams in division one are Hedgehope, Wyndham and Gore 2.

Division two teams played over nine holes at Mataura. Mataura A, Tokanui, Winton and Hedgehope 2 were the top teams of the round, with Tokanui’s Hayden Peters and Mataura’s Adam Newton the best individuals on the day.

Overall in division two, the top three teams are Mataura A, Tokanui and Hedgehope 2.

Bluff hosted division three teams and it was Mataura C, Riversdale and Bluff which were the best teams of the round, with Mataura’s Michael Ropitini the best individual.

Overall in division three, Riversdale 1 leads the division and Nightcaps and Queens Park round out the top three.

The next rounds of the MLT Handicap Pennants will be played at Hedgehope, Drummond and Dipton this weekend.

Wyndham Club Championships

THE finals of the Wyndham Club Championships were played on Saturday.

Glen Sutherland won the Senior Men’s title, beating runner-up Rob Mainland 4-3 in the final.

Simon Owen beat Paul Weston 8/7 to win the Intermediate Men’s title and Nicholas Sinclair beat Allan Warburton 2/1 to win Junior A.

Lorraine Froger won the Silver Ladies’ title, beating Judy Hunter on the 37th hole, Irene Walker beat Angela Warburton 4/3 to win the Bronze A Ladies section and Fiona Robinson was the winner of the Bronze B Ladies’ title, beating Sheila Arnott 2-up.

The Junior B Men’s final will be played at a later date.Sports brandsAutres