Premier cricketers to face off in semi-finals


THE four semi-finalists in the Southland Club Cricket Premier League are Waikoikoi, Old Boys, Metropolitan and Marist.

On Saturday morning, there were three teams in fourth position with the same competition points. Appleby, with its superior run-rate, had a chance to claim the spot if it could beat Old Boys but Appleby was beaten by 46 runs. It was then over to the winner of the Marist and Southland Boys’ High School (SBHS) game to proceed.

Marist won the match by 141 runs, thanks largely to Shaun Fitzgibbon’s third century of the season; an unbeaten 116 from 83 balls.

Marist batted first and top four batsmen piled on the runs. Openers Marty McKenzie (37) and Blake Harper (45) put on a 64-run partnership in the first 10 overs. Ben McKercher (67) and Shaun Fitzgibbon put on 111 for the third wicket. Young Reid Murray then took three wickets in four balls but Alec Mathieson (23*) was able to stick around for the last nine overs while, at the other end, Fitzgibbon increased the pace. Chasing 300, the school batsmen struggled under pressure and were dismissed for 159. Reid Murray (25) and Hunter Cairns (28) kept the innings going into the 41st over.

Old Boys beat Appleby by 46 runs thanks to a good team contribution with the bat. Old Boys made 273-5 from its 50 overs. Brayden Thomas (86) and Satwinder Singh (29) set a platform for the middle order batsmen Liam McWilliam (44) and Amarpreet Singh (60). In Appleby’s reply, openers Jamie Clark (52) and Khanin Saikia (43) started positively. Clark’s 71-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Calum Johnstone (21) looked promising but after that wickets fell regularly and Appleby was bowled out for 227 in the 48th over. Spin bowler Liam McWilliam took four wickets.

Waikoikoi had a 139-run win on its home ground against Metropolitan. The locals’ innings of 294-6 was anchored by two Southland representatives, Jared McKenzie (100) and Hamish Cooke (59). Cooke then took four cheap wickets to help wrap the Metro innings up for 155.

Old Boys B will host the division one final after beating Wyndale by 115 runs. Te Anau demolished the defending champions Central Western by 74 runs in the other semi.

Saturday’s draw: Waikoikoi v Old Boys, Metro v Marist QP 2. Division One: Old Boys B v Te Anau at Appleby 2. Division Two: Riversdale v Waikoikoi B.