Rivalry at Te Anau Lake swim

Daniel Hayes of Invercargill wins the overall and first male titles at the Te Anau Across the Lake Swim on Saturday. Photo Julie Walls

IT was a tight finish at the Te Anau Across the Lake Swim on Saturday.

Daniel Hayes of Invercargill bet his nearest rival 18-year-old Flynn Sinclair also of Invercargill by one second to take out the overall and first male titles, in a time of 28 mins 29 secs.

Hayes placed third last year behind Flynn who had won the race the previous two years and broke the previous race record held by Robert McDonald of Invercargill of 25.11.

Third place went to Bob Douglas of Invercargill in a time of 27.38.

The annual endurance race attracted 25 swimmers this year. Participants started from Dock Bay at the foot of the Jackson Peaks in Fiordland National Park, swimming 1.9km to the Te Anau foreshore.

The event, in its 34th year, was organised by Jansen Rogers of Invercargill and sponsored by The Sandfly Cafe, and assisted by Fiordland Amateur Swimming Club.

The first junior home was 18-year-old Flynn Sinclair in a time of 28.30.

The first junior woman home was 15-year-old Sophie Shallard of Invercargill in a time of 33.30.

Te Anau local Franciso Fioriti won the Kerry Mathieson Trophy in a time of 34.24.

“While all entry fees have been donated previously to Search and Rescue, St John Te Anau, and Fiordland Amateur Swimming Club, this year some of the entry fees would be retained in order to grow the event,” Rogers said.Adidas shoesnike fashion