Southland footballers recognised for season

Southland Football Community Volunteer Of The Year Leeann Duston, of Queens Park AFC.
Winton FC president Bronwyn Campbell with the Southland Football Club of the Year Award. Photos: Monica Toretto

SOUTHLAND Football members gathered recently to recognise the achievements of people involved in the 2020 season.

Players, coaches, officials, administrators, teams, clubs and volunteers were all recognised in a year in which the sport and all involved, had overcome challenges which came with Covid-19.

More than 50 names were received for the community awards indicating the sport was in extremely good health.

Leeann Duston, of the Queens Park Club, secured the Community Volunteer of the Year Award, while the Winton Football Club was awarded the Club of the Year title ahead of Wyndham Town FC and Gore Wanderers AFC.

Frank O’Boyle, of the Old Boys Club, claimed the Administrator of the Year Award and Carl Lambert, of Wyndham, the Coach of the Year.

Helen McLeish, of the Winton FC, won Official of the Year, while Jack Day and Nicholas McLeish, of Winton, jointly took out the Young Volunteer of the Year Award.

Promising young referee, Will Dymond, received the Referee Of The Year award.

Russell Bell took the Muriel Matheson Award for his immense contribution to the sport.

Ryo Okuyama, of Queens Park, received the Singapore Trophy when he was named Men’s Player of the Yea, while Wyndham’s Laura Hill took the honours for Women’s Player of the Yea.

Youth was recognised with Spencer Cunliffe, of Queens Park, gaining the Men’s Youth Player of the Year and Saffron Hare of Thistle the Women’s Youth Award.

Administrator Of The Year: Frank O’Boyle Year: Carl Lambert Official Of The Year: Helen McLeish Winton; Young Volunteer Of The Year: Jack Day and Nicholas McLeish – Winton; Community Volunteer Of The Year: Leeann Duston Year: Winton FC

Kolk Cup: Queens Park AFC. Runner-Up Trophy: Gore Wanderers AFC; Ottley Challenge Trophy: Thistle FC; Women’s Knockout Trophy: Queens Park AFC; Golden Boot: Rebecca Walker; Coach Of The Year: Matt Burgess Park AFC; Young Player Of The Year: Saffron Hare The Year: Laura Hill Town FC.

Patrons Cup (Division Two) : Old Boys Black; Division 2 Cup: Queens Park AFC; Division 2 Trophy: Southend United Green; Division 2 Plate: Thistle FC; Presidents Cup (Division One): Winton FC; Donald Gray Memorial Cup: Queens Park AFC; George Te Au Cup: Gore Wanderers AFC; Larry O’Rorke Challenge Trophy: Queens Park AFC; Charity Cup: Queens Park AFC; Edinburgh Trophy: Queens Park AFC; Stu Munro Golden Boot: Anton Fitzgerald; Coach Of The Year: Patrick Murphy Queens Park AFC; Young Player Of The Year: Spencer Cunliffe Player Of The Year (Singapore Trophy): Ryo Okuyama Park.

Referee Of The Year: Will Dymond; Muriel Mathieson Award: Russell Bellaffiliate tracking urlAir Jordan