Southland sporting stars to be honoured tonight

Eddie Dawkins has been nominated again for the Senior Sportsperson of the Year at the Southland Sports Awards at the Ascot Park Hotel tomorrow night. Photo: Southland Express files

THE past 12 months of Southland sporting achievements will be put under the microscope tonight in Invercargill.

The 2018 ILT Southland Sports Awards will be held at the Ascot Park Hotel, with 16 sports represented in the finalists across the seven different categories.

Cycling, netball and cricket’s stellar years have been highlighted following their large representation in the finalists.

Cycling has traditionally played a starring role at the Southland Sports Awards and this year is no different.

The sport is represented with finalists in six of the seven categories.

Cricket has also had a golden year, which included Southland winning the Hawke Cup for the first time in 26 years, and it is also well represented with five finalists across the seven categories.

Netball is the other major player in terms of sports represented among the finalists, with four.

The categories at the 2018 Southland Sports Awards are Junior Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Administrator of the year, Official of the Year, Masters Achievement, and the premier prize on the night, the Senior Sportsperson of the Year.

This year six finalists have been named for the Senior Sportsperson of the Year.

There will also be services to sport honours handed out on the night for people who have had a major impact within the Southland sporting sector.

ILT Southland Sports Awards finalists:

ILT Senior Sportsperson of the Year:

Eddie Dawkins (cycling)

Robert Dowling (woodchopping)

Wendy Frew (netball)

Patricia Hopcroft (touch)

Kirstie James (cycling)

Liam MacDonald (motorsport)

Vodafone Junior Sportsperson of the Year:

Josh Burnett (mountain biking)

Ben Lockrose (cricket)

Alena Saili (sevens)

Tom Sexton (cycling)

Dyani Shepherd-Oates (athletics)

Ella Smith (badminton)

Corbin Strong (cycling)

Southland Kia Team of the Year:

Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel (netball)

Southland Hawke Cup cricket team (cricket)

Graham and Jan Low (indoor bowls)

Emma Cumming and Natasha Hansen (cycling)

Ricoh Southland Coach of the Year:

Reinga Bloxham (netball)

Sid Cumming (cycling)

Stephen Jackson (cricket)

BDO Administrator of the Year:

Jason Domigan (cricket)

Martin Conway (disc golf)

Elaine Karsten (softball)

Creation Signs Official of the Year:

Peter Pasco (cricket)

Paul Tomlinson (cycling)

Kristie Simpson (netball)

NZME Masters Achievement:

Robyn Boniface (golf)

Erin Criglington (cycling)

Lynn Dickie (hockey)

Gail Kirkman (athletics)affiliate tracking urlPatike – Nike Air Jordan, Premium, Retro Klasici, Sneakers