Taekwondo club cleans up


IT was yet another impressive result for the Invercargill Sejong Taekwondo club, with competitors coming home with 30 medals from the Taekwondo Union New Zealand National Championships in Christchurch last weekend.

The club took 27 fighters, aged 5-38, to the event, winning 18 gold, nine silver and three bronze medals.

“We cleaned up, pretty much,” club president Brock Monaghan-Neutze said.

“I am absolutely blown away by our results.”

Monaghan-Neutze thanked the club’s coaches Amanda Smith, Taine Forbes and Poomsae coach Brent Reed for their work.

“These guys push our fighters to their limits at all trainings, and the drive from our fighters and all the hard work that is put in from everyone involved, including the support from the parents, is one of the reasons we had such a great success.”

He said among the standouts was Ryshae Forbes (16) who stepped up as her preparation continued towards the Junior World Championships in Canada in November. In Christchurch she won the junior and senior black belt divisions with three tough fights, he said.

Charlie Taplin (9) showed a lot of heart in the ring. After taking two low kicks and then getting kicked in the face when he was on the ground, he managed to continue on for a very convincing win for gold, Monaghan-Neutze said.

Ben Oosterbroek was another standout, winning gold and silver medals in Poomsae (a combination of defence and attack techniques) and a gold in sparring after stopping both his semi-final and final by way of a technical knockout (TKO) in the second round.

Jessie Henderson also fought well, winning his first fight by TKO to go through to the final to claim gold in his first tournament, he said.

Championship results:

Gold: Ryshae Forbes (open division and junior division), Charlie Taplin, Jack Taplin, Jessie Henderson, Logan Weir, Noah Smith, Ryan Colvin, Sam Oosterbroek, Ben Oosterbroek, Lucas Colvin, Reuban Taylor, Coral Hodgetts, Joshua White, Aaron Reed

Silver: Taine Forbes, Rhea Mulholland, Billy Gutchlag, Courtney Edwards, Amanda Taylor, Louisa Baird, Kohyn Smith

Bronze: Corbin Reed, Ethan Forsyth, Thomas Butson

Poomsae results: Teams: Ben and Sam Oosterbroek and Billy Gutschlag, gold. Individual: Eli McIver, gold; Ben Oosterbroek, silver; Logan Weir, silverBuy SneakersNike Air Max 90 WMNS Summit White DC1161-100 Release Date