Te Anau Rodeo celebrates 50 years

The rope and tie event at the 50th Te Anau Rodeo. Photo: Julie Walls

TE ANAU Rodeo celebrated its 50th in style, with a well-run event which was a definite crowd pleaser.

The weather was spot on, with an estimated 1800-plus people attending. More families than in previous years turned out for last month’s event.

Commemorative 50th anniversary belt buckles were awarded to all category winners, including two which went to Te Anau club members Kerry Macdonald and Tim Evans.

Macdonald won the barrel race, while Evans was in a two-man team with Murray Hellewell which won the team roping contest.

The open bull ride event. Photo: Julie Walls

Competitors included past national champions and four Australian cowboys.

Havelock North cowboy Ross Dowling won the bareback and saddle bronc events. His bareback victory was the third time he had won the category in Te Anau. He received the club’s Hamish Macdonald Memorial Trophy for the open bareback event.

Luke Longley, of Fairlie, won the Ron Galland Memorial Trophy for the Second Division bull ride.

The rope and tie event was won by Patrick McCarthy, while Clint McAughtrie won the bull ride category.

Three Te Anau club members also featured in the celebrations, with vice-president Matthew Macdonald presenting life membership buckles for dedicated services to club president Sandy Tee (18 years), secretary/treasurer Peter Dolamore (16 years) and Archie Armitage (23 years). They join four other life members – Bruce Campbell, Warren Brown, Alan Chalmers (head stockman) and the late Lindsay Wheeler.

Campbell spoke on the previous 50 years, having been around since the club was formed in 1968.

Dolamore said: “The club [members] would like to express their gratitude to the sponsors, helpers and the public for supporting the rodeo, shows that it is in good heart with the amount of support.”

The big crowd on the embankment at the 50th Te Anau Rodeo. Photo: Julie Walls
latest Nike Sneakers【メンズ】2021年最新版!アウトドア系ファッションの人気ブランド30選