Top four club cricket teams decided


WITH one more round of the Southland club cricket 50-over premier league scheduled before the finals, the top four teams are already decided.

Appleby, Old Boys, Waikoikoi and Metropolitan will have their finals rankings decided after this Saturday’s games. Marist and Southland Boys’ High School (SBHS) are the two teams out of contention.

On a wet Saturday morning last weekend the Marist and Metropolitan round 14 match was abandoned at Queens Park. Old Boys travelled out to Waikoikoi for a rain reduced 35-over match, while SBHS hosted Appleby.

Old Boys batted first and got through to 208 from their 35 overs for the loss of six wickets.

Liam McWilliam (27) was good at the top but it was again the representative batsmen that dominated the innings; Brendan Domigan with (46) and Amarpreet Singh with an unbeaten 57 runs off 50 balls. Cody McKenzie also helped to finish their innings strong with 37 runs from 34 balls.

In Waikoikoi’s reply, their top four batsmen couldn’t get going, Glenn Paterson scored 43 in the middle order but wickets tumbled around him. Waikoikoi was bowled out in the 30th over for just 113.

Appleby had a 39 run win at SBHS; Appleby scored 251 before being bowled out in their 50th over. After getting off to a solid start, the bulk of the total was built around the
middle-order batsmen Dhruval Aery (42), Calum Johnstone (40) and Sam Downing (26).

Number nine batsman Connor Hart finished the innings with 43 runs off 38 balls. Hunter Cairns took five wickets for 45 runs from his nine overs.

The SBHS run-chase got off to a poor start; they were at 53-4 before a partnership between Aaron Hart and Reid Murray (23) got the boys through to 115.

After Hart was dismissed for 88 in the 41st there was still time for Captain Josh Cocker (42) before the innings wrapped up for 212 in the 48th over.

Hawke Cup
Southland’s representative cricket team had its final Hawke Cup qualifying game against South Canterbury cancelled last weekend for reasons around Covid-19.

The top spot in zone four was still on offer ahead of the final round, Southland and Otago Country were tied on 21 but Southland ranked higher as it beat Otago Country on the first innings when they played each other.

If the match is not rescheduled, Southland will be the zone four winner but its challenge for the Hawke Cup will not be played this summer.

Hawke’s Bay is the current holder but its Zone 3 challenger, Canterbury Country, had its match postponed due to the Covid outbreak.

All parties have agreed to postpone this match, and the subsequent Zone 4 challenge, with a view to rescheduling these fixtures next season.