Cyclists battle tough conditions

Mid South Canterbury cyclist Jaxson Whyte wins the Memorial Race Classic on Saturday. Photo: Supplied

CONDITIONS were certainly memorable for Saturday’s Memorial Race Classic, as cyclists in the open handicap event battled strong wind, rain, and cold over 102 kilometres.

Mid South Canterbury cyclist Jaxson Whyte took the win in a sprint over Hendre Knoetze, with Fraser Hewett third.

The fastest time of the day went to Hunter Gough, who outsprinted Matt Zenovich for the honour. Rhylee Akeroyd was the fastest woman.

The event also featured the Curtis Dunn Memorial race for juniors, with Cooper Gough winning the under-13 title, Poppy McIvor the under-15 title, and Marshall Erwood the under-17 title.

Whyte was understandably happy with his performance in tough conditions, and said it bode well for his next focus, the Yunca Junior Tour of Southland, which starts on October 8, although he hoped the weather would improve.

Several trophies were also awarded, with the Murray McLeay Cup for the race win being presented to Jaxson Whyte, the Bunty Hewitt Trophy for first B grader to Alistair Burnett, the Martin Verbeek Trophy for first C grader to Brian Lippers, and the L K Wilson Challenge Cup for fastest time to Hunter Gough.