On Par – Golf Southland


MLT Pennants
Invercargill A is the 2021 MLT President Pennants champion.

The team beat Mataura 2.5 to 1.5 at Gore on Saturday.

Individual results were (Invercargill names first): Matt Tautari squared with Tyler McLean, Craig O’Rorke beat Leith Campion 3/2, Liam Hewitt beat Rhuebyn Prattley 3/2, Paul Adams lost to Adam Newton.

Third place was Riversdale who beat Winton 4/0.

Individual results were (Riversdale names first): Dean Whaanga beat Ben Worker 2/1, Daniel Elder beat Simon Boland 5/4, Morgan Will beat Ewan Clark 4/3, Grant Weller beat Jason Unahi 2/1

Laing Shield
Nightcaps has recorded another win, beating Te Anau 4/2.

Individual results were: James Harding beat Andy Hey 2 up, Brett Dobbie lost to Paul Evans 2/1, Ross Mangels beat Luke Wright 4/3, Alan Roberts beat Andy Thoms 5/4, Peter Booth beat Kurt Houghton 3/2, Keith Clark lost to Lex Suddaby 1 down.

Congratulations to Brett Dobbie on his 50th challenge.

Nightcaps’ next challenge is against Riversdale.

Gilmour Rosebowl
Waikaka have beaten their neighbour Waikaia in their latest challenge, 3

Individual results were: Dianne Cleland lost to Anita Fraser 1 down, Deryn Cullen beat Pam Macleod 4/2, Sue Stewart beat Vanessa Clark 5/4, Sharon Irwin beat Rose Wilson 3/2, Lynne Hall squared with Colleen Morton.

Waikaka’s next challenge is against Invercargill.

Southland Matchplay Championships
The Southland Men’s & Women’s Matchplay championships have been rescheduled to October 16 and 17 at Greenacres Golf Club.

The competition will include gross and handicap divisions plus a separate Men’s Masters (40 +) grade.

Entries close on October 12 . To enter email admin@golfsouthland.co.nz or phone/text 021 270 3124.